Other Units

Trevor Barnes

Department of Geography

Trevor-Barnes
Professor and Distinguished University Scholar (B.Sc. University College, London, Ph.D. University of Minnesota)
Office: 1984 West Mall, Room 140C
Telephone: 604-822-5804
Email: tbarnes@geog.ubc.ca
Website: http://www.geog.ubc.ca/~tbarnes/


Luke Bergmann

Department of Geography

Associate Professor and Canada Research Chair (B.S. Duke; M.A., Ph.D. Minnesota)
Office: Geography 215C
Email: luke.bergmann@ubc.ca

I am a geographer interested in how and why the mainstreams of GIS and the digitization of geographical and cartographic understandings have developed in the manners that they have. I am equally interested in how alternative forms of geographical computation have emerged and will emerge, given other theoretical commitments and other social alliances. Across such approaches, what are the range of worlds that are possible to engage computationally and enact? What is at stake when worlds are represented as contained self-sufficient objects indexed within space as opposed to when phenomena (and spaces) emerge out of processes and relations? I examine these questions theoretically, historically, and concretely in engagements within particular fields of inquiry, including: geographical political economy, nature-society relations, globalization, critical physical geography, and the evolution and emergence of disease.


Katherine Bowers

Department of Central, Eastern, and Northern European Studies


Associate Professor of Slavic Studies (BA, MA U of Virginia; MA, PhD Northwestern)
Office: BUCH Tower 924
Telephone: 604-822-6431
Email: katherine.bowers@ubc.ca
Website: https://cenes.ubc.ca/people/katherine-bowers/


Candis Callison

School of Journalism

Candis-Callison
Associate Professor (M.Sc., Ph.D. MIT)
Office: Room 203
Telephone: 604-822-9792
Email: candis.callison@ubc.ca
Website: http://journalism.ubc.ca/callison_bio/


Hugh Gusterson

Department of Anthropology

Professor (Ph.D. Stanford)
Office: ANSO 1211
Phone: 604-822-2878
Email: hugh.gusterson@ubc.ca


Ilinca Iuraşcu

Department of Central, Eastern and Northern European Studies

Associate Professor (Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania)
Office: Buchanan Tower 926
Phone: 6048226489
Email:
iurascu@mail.ubc.ca
Website: http://cenes.ubc.ca/people/ilinca-iurascu/


Kirsty Johnston

Department of Theatre and Film

Kirsty-Johnson
Associate Professor (B.A. Queen’s, M.A. U. Toronto, Ph.D. U. Toronto)
Office: Auditorium Annex A Room 244E
Telephone: 604-827-5542
Email: kirsty.johnston@ubc.ca
Website: http://theatrefilm.ubc.ca/persons/kirsty-johnston/


Stephen Petrina

Department of Curriculum and Pedagogy

Stephen-Petrina
Professor (B.Sc. California, M.A., Ph.D. University of Maryland)
Office: Scarfe 2331
Telephone: 604-822-5325
Email: stephen.petrina@ubc.ca
Website: http://blogs.ubc.ca/spcv


M. V. Ramana

School of Public Policy and Global Affairs


Professor (Ph.D. Boston University)
Office: Liu Institute for Global Issues, Room 313
Email: m.v.ramana@ubc.ca
Website: https://sppga.ubc.ca/profile/m-v-ramana/


T’ai Smith

The Department of Art History, Visual Art & Theory

Associate Professor (B.A. Bernard College, Columbia University, M.A., Ph.D. University of Rochester)
Office: Auditorium Annex Offices A 269
Phone: 604 822 4839
Email: tai.smith@ubc.ca
Website: http://ahva.ubc.ca/persons/tai-smith/?login


Daniel Steel

School of Population and Public Health

Associate Professor (M.A. University of Florida, Ph.D. University of Pittsburgh)
Office: W. Maurice Young Centre for Applied Ethics
Phone: 778–919–7198
Email: daniel.steel@ubc.ca
Website: http://spph.ubc.ca/person/daniel-steel/


Geoffrey Winthrop-Young

Department of Central, Eastern and Northern European Studies

cropped-GeoffreyWinthropYoung1

Professor (M.A. University of Freiburg, Ph.D. University of British Columbia)
Office: Buchanan Tower 227
Email: winthrop@mail.ubc.ca
Website: http://cenes.ubc.ca/people/geoffrey-winthrop-young/